Brick By Brick

Debt Tower Update: it’s that time again. We are getting sooo close. I may post more often in the months to come as this *could* be our final year, Lord willing, and wouldn’t it be fun to see our monolith disintegrate brick by brick? Of course, that also means sharing honestly about our failures, because we have our fair share of those too, but hopefully even our shortcomings can render grace.

debttower117

Debt Tower I 2013 – 2017

Goal: One Year – 10th anniversary 1/4/18 – to debt freedom. At over 1K/month, this will be our biggest challenge yet. (Though I might argue the sheer length of time that we’ve been persevering was hardest overall.) With God all things are possible! Really, tomorrow is in His hands no matter what. Rich or poor, slave or free, we are beloved by Him and He has so much that is good in store for us.

20170123_162237

January 2017

See the light at the end of the tunnel?! Part of me dares not imagine what awaits us on the other side, for fear I shall be crushed with disappointment if it does not live up to my expectations. I’m grateful for these days of learning to put my trust not in my own dreams, but in the faithfulness of a Father who has a magnificent love for us.

Becoming debt free won’t make life easy. New sacrifices will replace the old. The character and discipline and wisdom we gain are our greatest reward.

When the LEGO tower has come tumbling down, what next? We have already begun brainstorming the next iteration our of family’s financial vision…

20170123_181636

Dregge Dream Map?

For every beast of the forest is mine,
the cattle on a thousand hills.
I know all the birds of the hills,
and all that moves in the field is mine.

. . .

The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me;
to one who orders his way rightly
I will show the salvation of God!

Psalm 50: 10-11, 23

3 thoughts on “Brick By Brick

  1. This is exciting! I know it has been a long hard journey, but I love seeing in a very concrete form how far you have come.

Leave a Reply

