Wild Roses Dwell Among Us

Driving down the gravel road last year after a sultry storm, I first spied the wild roses, their bright pink popping freshly amid the clover. The last few weeks I began to look for them again along the ditches. To our amazement, as we tended our garden last week, we noticed raspberry vines and what looked like rose leaves arching up from the prairie only a few feet from the asparagus. Lo and behold, they are blooming.

20160602_102340

As lovely as this flower looks, its fragrance is even lovelier–deep breath!

Wild roses have come to us, and dwell among us, and fill our days with sweetness!

20160602_102209

Raspberries and wild roses overlook our garden, as well as the windmill sentinels to the southwest.

I did not imagine we’d make such discoveries our second year at The Anchorage. I never dreamed my long-favorite flower would suddenly appear in my backyard. Further up and further in!

20160602_100350

#nofilter on this photo but check out Instagram! https://www.instagram.com/rdregge/

This Flower, whose fragrance tender
With sweetness fills the air,
Dispels with glorious splendor
The darkness everywhere.

~from “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming”

2 thoughts on “Wild Roses Dwell Among Us

  1. Wild roses! I love that fragrance too. Passed some purposefully-planted ones walking in my downtown recently and I knew them by smell before I saw them. Enjoying your blog’s continuing adventure!

Leave a Reply

