L

L is for Learnin’

IMG_7063

Aspiring Aviators: Norah and Josiah

Here at the Anchorage Academy it is the first day of school. For the most part it is like any other day: work and play, rest and repeat. I am trying to set aside a specific hour dedicated to table subjects: Bible, Math, Writing, Reading (Science/Health/History), and Music. These subjects are already part of our daily routine, and many more besides, but calling them “school” assuages my nagging guilt that I am not like anybody else. Time is so full and fleeting, however, and there are field trips and playdates and grandma-visits and appointments to snatch away that hour. So I won’t let the clock determine learning. Learning is all the time. Learning is always. Learning is now, and ever shall be.

I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.
-Pablo Picasso

Leave a Reply

