And Hope

IMG_3494

Look! This pretty rainbow of wood is the floor that lay beneath the glue and paper we scraped off. As soon as it is warm enough we will seal it.

Confession: This year is the first year we may have to pay taxes when we file instead of getting a return. Our medical expenses have shot up too, though we are healthier than we’ve ever been. My devastation fades to disappointment, despite having more than we deserve. No! We will cheerfully submit our hard-earned wages unto Caesar, for Jesus has done more for us than any nation-state. I will instead dwell on all of the good, good gifts.

Seven years ago I married my best friend.

two are better than one ~ Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

God gave us a daughter born in my own Iowa.

let me go to the field and glean among the ears of grain ~ Ruth 2:2

In 2011 we were blessed to buy our brick Portage. What projects and parties we have had here. Beloved neighbors, too.

show hospitality ~ 1 Peter 4:9

Brett has found job after job after job (nine since we were married), each one better than the last.

whatever you do, work heartily ~ Colossians 3:23

We have also owned three vehicles, each amazingly provided in a time of need.

God will supply every need ~ Philippians 4:19

Our family has traveled to east and west coasts – & gone to ten weddings in five years.

feast on the abundance ~ Psalm 36:5-9

This year alone (I must not forget!), I paid off Sallie Mae just before my 30th birthday, took a writing course, and we discovered our Anchorage — and paid off the Portage the same week we closed on the Anchorage which was days before Brett’s 30th! This list is just a taste of the marvels in our daily lives, but savoring these helps restore my perspective. I am still so excited for what is to come, and don’t want doldrums to bog me down. So I’ll keep my eyes on the prize, the joy set before me, and hope.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. ~ Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

