Multiplied

Our life has changed.

On a Sunday afternoon we brought two little children home to stay for two weeks. Brett went to work that night at his usual 8:45. Shortly after, I put the kids to bed, and they screamed for two hours before fitfully dropping asleep, all my best efforts at comforting them, fruitless. Being 2 & 3 is hard. Being tired on top of it, horrible.

Monday, after Brett came home and slept, we packed everyone into the car to go see my grandma on her 99th birthday, stopping by a little acreage that had just appeared on our listings. I snapped a few pictures of the apple trees, the gold seas of ripe corn, and the fantastical wind turbines. We enjoyed cake and coffee with family in between chasing our tripled children.

Over the next 12 days our routine continued: bright happy mornings, mild-mannered meals, frequent park visits. Naptime rejected. Occasional pouting fits. Laughing, playing, learning. In the evening Brett would leave for night shift, and no matter my tactics, at least an hour of crying would ensue every single night to poor Norah’s dismay. I’d sleep in the hallway until Brett woke me when he returned around 7 AM each morning.

“Would you ever consider doing it again?” a dear soul asked me.

Vehemently, indisputably, emphatically: YES.

I need to do it– to keep me thankful.

But the strangest thing happened. This will seem like an unrelated story, but to my mind the events are inseparable. We decided to evaluate our finances. We determined that the property we’d seen on my grandmother’s 99th was a pretty good deal. We prayed, and offered our best bid. GrandVel’s birthday was October 20th. Our offer was accepted November 4th, and we are set to close on or before December 4th.

Could all of this be mere coincidence? Sure it could. The most amazing coincidence of my life to date. I’m inclined to be on the lookout for more such “coincidences.”

tripled (2)

I have previously used the byline “One day I hope to live on a gravel road and turn a barn into a theater; until then I dream and dare.”

I’m not dreaming anymore.

You have multiplied, O Lord my God, your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us; none can compare with you! I will proclaim and tell of them, yet they are more than can be told. -Psalm 40:5

May mercy, peace, and love be multiplied to you. -Jude 1:2

4 thoughts on “Multiplied

Leave a Reply

